Default Font Size Icon

Wenatchee Student Clubs & Organizations

 IMPORTANT NOTICE:
The Campus Life office is open from Monday through Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm.
We are also available via phone and email.
Email: campuslife@coolantsinformation.com; Phone: 509-682-6860.

ASWVC Clubs

Wenatchee Valley College has a diverse assortment of student clubs, both on the Omak and Wenatchee campus'. Clubs and organizations provide excellent opportunities for social and civic involvement, networking, stress relief, skill building, and so much more.

For more information about joining or starting a club continue reading below, browse our club brochure (Wenatchee clubs only), or contact us:

  • Wenatchee campus: Please contact Roberto Villa at (509) 682-6867 or rvilla@coolantsinformation.com
  • Omak campus: (509) 422-7810

 

 Getting Started

Joining a club is easy!

  1. Look through the list of clubs that we have on campus 
  • Scroll down to the heading: Wenatchee Campus Clubs - by clicking on the club name, you are able to open their club flier to learn a bit more and find out when they meet
  • Some clubs have a notation behind their club name, "(Currently on hiatus)", you can inquire about these clubs, but at this time they are not active. Additionally, the club fliers attached to their names are from a previous year. However, we want to be able to show you the variety of clubs that have established recognition on the Wenatchee campus, and what their focus is. 
  1. Show up to a club meeting, or reach out to the club advisor to let them know you are interested
  2. Participate in the club activities!

If you have an idea for a club that we don't already have, you can start one!

  1. Find an advisor (a staff or faculty member employed in a professional position with WVC)
  2. Find at least 3 other currently enrolled students that want to be in your club
  3. Read over the Club Handbook to familiarize yourself with the responsibilities, guidelines, and policies of the college concerning club business
  4. Fill out the Club Certification and create a Club Constitution (guidelines for how your club will operate)

 

Then comes the approval process...

  1. Your request is reviewed by Campus Life staff
  2. Your request is reviewed by the ASWVC Senate - you will be notified of the date of this review and you are welcome to come present to the senate about your request.
  3. You will be notified when your club is approved
  4. Complete the Club Training - all officers and the club advisor, must do a mandatory Club Training before any activities can be planned or funding can be accessed

 

Let others know that you are here!

  1. Create your club flier to get the word out about who you are and when you meet
  2. Mark your calendar for Interclub Council meetings - these are monthly mandatory meetings - for more information read below under Interclub Council or see the Club Handbook
  3. Start having fun!
  • Utilize college facilities
  • Reserve activity dates on the official college calendar
  • Organize activities and events both on and off campus
  • Be included in student publications
In order to become an officially recognized club, and eligible to receive funding and host events, complete the steps in the section titled: "Start a Club".
Each year, clubs that wish to remain officially recognized as a student organization will need to fill out the Club Recertification form. This forms allows clubs to update officer information, and notify the Campus Life office of their continued activity.

If a club makes any changes, either to the club name and/or club operations, then the Club Constitution will need to be resubmitted and approved. (If there are no changes, then the existing constitution remains valid.)

Wenatchee Campus
Interclub Council is composed of the ASWVC Vice President, who serves as the Chair, the ASWVC Treasurer who serves as the Co-Chair, at least one representative from each club on the Wenatchee campus, and the Student Leadership & Engagement Coordinator, who serves as advisor for all clubs. The council meets monthly to discuss ideas, plans, partnerships, activities, and funding.

Excused Absence
In rare situations, all members of a given club may be in classes or be required to partake in other obligations that prevent participation at Interclub Council meetings. If such circumstances arise an Excused Absence Petition may be granted.


The Excused Absence Petition must be submitted to Campus Life on or before the time and day that Interclub Council meets.

Approval for the petition must be received from the Student Leadership & Engagement Coordinator and/or the Associate Dean of Campus Life, Equity, & Inclusion.

 

Clubs are encouraged to check out the Club Resources page for tips
and guidance on various topics related to operating as a club.

 

To find our more information about when and where the clubs meet, click on the club name!

Ag & Natural Resources 

Provides opportunities to experience agriculture and natural resource practices and operations. 

Advisor: Michael Lesky; mlesky@coolantsinformation.com, Francisco Sarmiento-Torres: fsarmiento-torres@coolantsinformation.com

AutoTech Club (Currently on hiatus)

Focuses on expanding the knowledge of automotive technology by working collectively with peers and community members. Additionally, the AutoTech Club seeks to expand community outreach.

Co-Advisors: Bob Greiner, rgreiner@coolantsinformation.com; Tom Doherty, tdoherty@coolantsinformation.com

Bailadores Orgullo de México (Currently on hiatus)

Introduces traditional Mexican dances that emphasize local folk culture.

Advisor: Vacant

Club of Natural Resources (Currently on hiatus)

Provides a platform for environmental stewardship, to work alongside government agencies and non-profit organizations to explore career prospects, and to create a common space for sharing ideas, experiences, and information to further encourage a positive and active change in our shared natural environment.

Advisor: Jennifer Hadersberger, jhadersberger@coolantsinformation.com

Cyber Knights 

Expands and explores knowledge of computer technology.

Advisor: David Burns, dburns@coolantsinformation.com

DELTA

Our goal is to discover where we come from, why we are here and what our future holds. 

Advisor: Rob Fitch, rfitch@coolantsinformation.com 

Esports Club

To provide a community on campus where students can connect with others and share their interest in gaming. We will also bring out competitive spirit in a positive & inclusive environment. 

Advisor: Easton Hetterle, ehetterle@coolantsinformation.com

Economics Club 

To provide & assist students in the analyzation of economics globally as well as interpretation while conducting discussions.

Advisors: Waleed Muhammad, wmuhammad@coolantsinformation.com

Mariachi Alma del Valle (Currently on hiatus)

To learn and perform traditional Mexican Folk music, and bring a cultural experience to Wenatchee Valley College

Advisor: Vacant

MASK (Medical Assistant Student Knights)

Enhances, assists, and supports the academic and clinical success of each student currently enrolled in the medical assistant program. The goal is to encourage participation in local, state and national conferences. The focus is on helping build confidence in students as skills are developed.

Co-Advisors: Jan Kaiser, jkaiser@coolantsinformation.com; Marilyn Brincat, mbrincat@coolantsinformation.com

MEChA

Is a student organization that promotes education, self-identity, and historical/cultural knowledge which benefits and empowers the Latinx community, thus creating social change through self-determined political action.

Advisor: Jennifer Perez, jperez@coolantsinformation.com

Mechatronics 

Combining past projects into one extraordinary project utilizing modern electronics.

Advisor: Zack Jacobson, zjacobson@coolantsinformation.com

PSI Beta Honor Society

Is a national honor society for psychology at the community college level. The purpose of this club shall be psychology lectures, service, undergraduate research, & mentor ship.

Advisors: J'Lene George, jgeorge@coolantsinformation.com , Ayla Medina Ulloa, amedinaaulla@coolantsinformation.com 

PTK (Phi Theta Kappa) Honor Society 
(No flier/additional information available)

The purpose of the national Phi Theta Kappa honor society: Eta Rho chapter, is to recognize and encourage scholarship among college students. To achieve this purpose, the chapter provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Advisor:  Dr. Dan Stephens, dstephens@coolantsinformation.com; Barbara Oldham boldham@coolantsinformation.com 

QSA (Queer Straight Alliance) 

Creates an inclusive environment for LGBTQ+ individuals and their allies by promoting a positive space that helps the LGBTQ community and the college through community building, understanding, and support.

Advisor:  Hart Johnson, sjohnson@coolantsinformation.com

Refrigeration 

Promotes professional and community activities with HVAC/Refrigeration Industries locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally. Members participate in community events, business meetings, leadership conferences, seminars, conventions, and field trips. Additionally, members take part in community service to repair air conditioners and refrigerators for seniors and low-income families, and perform free home HVAC/Energy inspections for college staff and students as needed. 

Advisor: Greg Jourdan, gjourdan@coolantsinformation.com

Signing Knights 

Encourages involvement of students with the deaf community, bridging the gap between deaf and hearing communities.

Advisor: Barbara Oldham, boldham@coolantsinformation.com  

SNOW (Student Nurses of Wenatchee)

Promotes and provides educational opportunities; provides opportunities for students to participate in community volunteerism; provides opportunities for interaction between students and the community at large; and provides leadership opportunities.

Co-Advisors: Jenny Freese, jfreese@coolantsinformation.com; Imelda Barragan, ibarragan@coolantsinformation.com 

STEM Club 

Provides opportunities for students to explore the STEM fields and engage with like-minded students, faculty, and mentors in the community.

Advisor: Branwen Schaub, bschaub@coolantsinformation.com; Rosana Linarez. rlinarez@coolantsinformation.com 

Veteran Knights (Currently on hiatus)

Supports veteran students with tools for transitioning from military to college through the help of other veterans who are currently enrolled on the Wenatchee campus. Additionally, Veteran Knights help new veteran students with their studies by means of tutoring and mentoring; as well as facilitating a network of student veterans.

Co-Advisors: Derek Sheffield, dsheffield@coolantsinformation.com; Bob Greiner, rgreiner@coolantsinformation.com

Water Power Club

Encourage education and participation in the Hydro Industry in our surrounding community. Give students opportunities to learn skills of their degree and network with employers and businesses encompassing the hydro community. Be a part of renewable energy future as well as shaping a carbon-free future. 

Advisors: Rosana Linarez, rlinarez@coolantsinformation.com: Karen Alman, kalman@coolantsinformation.com